The Byera Hadley Travelling Scholarship


The Byera Hadley Travelling Scholarship is awarded by the Architects Registration Board NSW, to help further the profession and advocate the role of architects in the wider community.

APHA Board Member, Kate Nason, was the recipient in 2018 for the proposal to research how the Passive House Standard is being adopted by architects, policy makers and the broader industry to help curb carbon emissions in buildings and create a more resilient future for urban centres around the world.

This research was conducted in 2019 and was formally published by the ARB in February 2020.

The goal of this report is to give international context to the history, relevance and application of the Passive House Standard. It elaborates on ways it has been used as a key instrument in building design and development policy, and how it has become the generator of a close knit global community of individuals striving for a better future for all.

Read the full report here ahead of SPPHC 2020 to discover commentary by our international keynote speakers!